Rack’em Billiards – June 15, 2014

Wilder Sons, Love In War & Death Of Paris

YEAH!!!! I made it to Sunday!! I am the last woman standing because y’all couldn’t hang for all 3 shows! <Just kidding…but still…I did it!>

Welcome back to Rack’em folks…It’s “Where The Magic Happens”…and boy there was some magic flying in the air Sunday night!! The great thing about this weekend was there was so many bands I hadn’t seen so this was a big treat for me!

Wilder Sons - Naples, FL
Wilder Sons – Naples, FL

Wilder Sons took the stage at 9:45pm. With an integral line up of skillfully artistic musicianship, Wilder Sons had an incredible connection to their audience. Honing in on some great sounds taking their cues from the alternative greats such as Maroon 5 to Breaking Benjamin and then adding a dash of the Smashing Pumkins this band was a highlight for my Sunday evening. Wilder Sons gained a new fan in me and I don’t mean to be demanding but I WANT A CD!!! These guys were by far the most entertaining band of my weekend. Aaron Maloney impressed the hell out of me with his expertise behind the drum kit. (remember…I’m percussion obsessed due in thanks to my father). Aaron’s use of several different shakers and mallots plus his Vic Ferth jazz sticks give this band a great beat and his heart and soul is a force to be reckoned with. He plays with the technical attitude of Buddy Rich but with our own beloved local drummers heart of Paul Gaeta from Before The Fire (and we all know the incredible heart and soul Paul plays with). With his precision timing and multiple beats ranging from jazz to rock to orchestra timpani Aaron is the quintessential rhapsody of perfect percussion. The intricately detailed lyrical content is off the chain…Brian Blount reels you in through his stage performance and once he’s got you there he doesn’t let go until he’s done. Hands down he was born to be a front man. Rounding out this phantasmagorical (yes…it is a word…I checked) quartet is Chris Anderson on Bass and Jacob Rubinton on Guitar & Vocals. Chris and Aaron are so intune with each other it’s almost like watching them read each others mind on stage and that makes for great entertainment in itself. Set with the backdrop of unmistakable vocal harmonies to make for a thick and polished sound is what makes up the Wilder Sons…from here on out I am bugging them for a CD at any chance I get! Check out their Facebook page. LIKE, LOVE and SHARE IT!! This is definitely one band you are going to want to keep tabs on.

Follow Wilder Sons On Facebook

Up next is Love In War…What could I possibly say about Love In War

Love In War - Ft. Myers, FL
Love In War – Ft. Myers, FL

that I have not said already. One of my favorite bands…Huge fan right here!! Last time I heard LIW was my first time (Yes…I was a virgin at one point). I was wanting so bad to hear Kate Flannigan’s incredible vocals and I was totally wowed! This time I paid very close attention to the musical content and the perfection of their song structure. Adam Canute gets the double metal horns from me taking over the technical task of the sampling and triggers as well as being the back bone and driving force of a lot of their music. Mike Calavano is right there with slicky bass lines and a beat that compliments the rhythm section as a whole and never overpowering in the least. Matt Russo is key in this line up with amazing guitar leads that compliment each song with just the right amount of rock vs. metal without going to far to each side. So on that note Love In War gets 5 Stars again from me…a talented quartet that if you get a chance to go out and see you will not be sorry! Check out Love In War on Facebook where you can keep up on all that’s happening with these guys and awesome lady. Trust me…It’s one LIKE and SHARE you won’t mind getting notifications from!

Follow Love In War On Facebook

Death Of Paris - Columbia, SC
Death Of Paris – Columbia, SC

And as our Sunday came to a close the last band for this magical, musical journey was Death Of Paris. Holy cow! Was that a flash of light from the stage? And is that Aretha Franklin…No…It’s Adele…No…It’s Nina Simone…Hell NO!!…It’s Jayna Doyle!! Jayna is the lead vocalist for Death of Paris and an incredible performer!! Her onstage persona deems right from their Facebook page. Imagine “Gwen Stefani or Paramore’s Hayley Williams fronting a band like The Killers or Muse”…and I can tell you, that’s exactly what I did. This incredibly, energetic Electro Pop/Rock band from South Carolina has an incredible following. With catchy riffs, sleek keyboards and synth that doesn’t take away from the underlying 90’s sound and groovy guitar lines all combined to make a fantastic conglomerate of music for the people. I actually caught myself dancing a little bit (which I do not do). Jayna’s connection with her audience is perfection personified. I will definitely be clearing my calendar next time they roll through town. Keep up on DOP’s scheduled tour and if they come to a venue near you, you are definitely going to want to clear your own calendar. Check out their Facebook page and unleash yourself…Check out all their web pages and buy some music. ..

Follow Death Of Paris On Facebook

Remember folks…when you buy merch from a bands table you are actually helping them get to their next gig, putting food on their table, helping them out with their next big single. We work hard at what we do and to bring you the best music we think you will go crazy for. I’m a musician too and I never take the kindness for granted. Always support your Local venues, musicians and businesses. We are the community of artists helping artists. And on that note…Until next weekend my peeps…

Peace, Love and Rock & Roll

~Christina

Leave a comment